We’re thisclosetopickingaplay for 2011…

August 24, 2010 at 11:03 am (Optimist Theatre Updates) (, , )

Greetings Optimists!

Tonight, we have another round of “What Play Should We Do Next Year?”  Most days, that’s a great game to play on it’s own merits, but tonight might just answer that question.

As Managing Director, my perspective is different than that of the creative team of Ron, Tom, Jim and ML.  I speak Artist and love a spirited debate, but my required input now revolves more around, “Yeah, I think we could sell that.”

Early days, I was in the thick of the creative decisions of this sort.  It was great.  I loved it.  It’s tiring.  Now, I have the luxury of getting the heck out of the way of the professionals.  And kibitzing.  I’ve gotta be me.

I’m really looking forward to tonight’s discussion.  We’ve narrowed it down to 2 possibilities and are even starting to consider who we will ask to direct.  With the calibre of people we’re talking about, that’s almost as mind-bendingly cool as deciding which play.

Stay tuned…

Optimistically,

Susan Scot Fry

Leave a Reply

