No Fear Shakespeare

January 14, 2010 at 9:32 am (Brave New World Updates, The Tempest Updates) (, , , , , , , )

There’s this lovely website called “No Fear Shakespeare”.  I started reading their side-by-side (Shakespeare’s text and a modern translation) text for The Tempest and found it to be non-simplistically, brain-candy enjoyable.

I say Hey!  Take the Fear out of Shakespeare!  Free Shakespeare for Everyone!  And if this helps, I also say AMEN!

Check out The Tempest at http://nfs.sparknotes.com/tempest/.

What a Brave New World.

Optimistically,

Susan Scot Fry

1 Comment

  1. Sean said,

    I will have to check out the “translation.” My problem with most of them is that they have a tendency to render complex thoughts like “To be or not to be” as “To kill myself or not to kill myself.” And if you take the language and layering out of Shakespeare what is left? The stories by themselves are not the genius. That being said, I appreciate you bringing Thornton Melon back into the world of Shakespeare.

Leave a Reply

